Ditka: Aaron Rodgers ‘Best in Football’

Mike Ditka: Aaron Rodgers ‘is the best’ QB in NFL

Nevertheless, according to Mike Ditka, it is Rodgers that stands out above the crowd. The legendary former coach told the Chicago Sun-Times that the Green Bay signal caller is the best in the business: I look at guys like [Tom] Brady and [Drew] Brees… the talent is phenomenal. The guy up in Green Bay [Aaron Rodgers], I think is the best in football. But thats my opinion. I like what he does, and I like his leadership qualities. And I think thats the other thing you have to look at. He has to be the guy in charge. And the team has to know it. He also said that Rodgers is the one player he would love to have the opportunity to coach.

With some team improvements, Aaron Rodgers looks to lead offense back to the top

Aaron Rodgers has led the NFL in passer rating the past two seasons, including an NFL-record mark of 122.5 in 2011.

More … “There’s been so many great ones,” Ditka wrote in the Chicago Sun-Times. “But if I had to coach one guy in my career, maybe it’d be Aaron Rodgers .” Wrote Ditka: “I look at guys like (Tom) Brady and (Drew) Brees … the talent is phenomenal. The guy up in Green Bay, I think is the best in football. But that’s my opinion. I like what he does, and I like his leadership qualities. And I think that’s the other thing you have to look at. He has to be the guy in charge.

Tiny Green Bay, Wis., has become the gold standard for quarterbacking play in the NFL. Few franchises have ever had it better than the Packers since Favre’s arrival in 1992. “We’ve been extremely fortunate at that position,” Packers coach Mike McCarthy said recently. San Francisco’s Joe Montana and Steve Young are the only Hall of Fame quarterbacks to follow each other. That pair led the 49ers for 21 years (1979-’99), which is the same amount of time the Favre-Rodgers duo has guided Green Bay (1992-2012). In their two-plus decades in Green Bay, Favre and Rodgers have combined for two Super Bowl championships, four Most Valuable Player awards, 623 touchdown passes and approximately 83,300 passing yards. The Montana-Young duo combined for five Super Bowl titles, four MVPs, 465 touchdowns and roughly 65,000 passing yards. At 29, Rodgers remains in his physical prime. His mental skills are off the charts.

Leave a Reply

